top of page
Search
  • Kimberley Monaghan

Meiji Shrine. 21/04/2019

Updated: May 3, 2019

I had taken a trip to Meiji Jingu, which is a Shinto shrine in the Shibuya ward of Tokyo. The shrine is dedicated to the deified spirits of Emperor Meiji and his consort Empress Shoken. The photo is of the gate leading up to the shrine that you can see in the background, there is a ritual to walking through the gate from what I have observed from the public: you bow before you step through the gate. The shrine is located withing a park that has total of twenty three place and sight

Meiji Shrine



can see while walking through the park the houses all these sights. Some of these sight include: main shrine, Meiji Jingu Garden, Martial arts Hall. While there I was able to make an offering to the shrine. To make an offering has a certain ritual to it you: throw your money into a box with slates then you bow twice, then clap twice and bow once more. situated within the main shrine gates are camphor trees which where planted in 1920 at the time of the enshrinement of Meiji Jingu, they have grown under the protection of the deities to become huge and vivid, also they are considered to be sacred. can see while walking through the park the houses all these sights. Some of these sight include: main shrine, Meiji Jingu Garden, Martial arts Hall. While there I was able to make an offering to the shrine. To make an offering has a certain ritual to it you: throw your money into a box with slates then you bow twice, then clap twice and bow once more. situated within the main shrine gates are camphor trees which where planted in 1920 at the time of the enshrinement of Meiji Jingu, they have grown under the protection of the deities to become huge and vivid, also they are considered to be sacred.


They are know as 'Meoto Kusu' or "Husband and wife", the couple trees have become a symbol of happy marriage and harmonious life with the family.


While I was at the main shrine I also made a prayer, You write on piece of paper then slip it into envelope with few coin and those then open at alter and hopefully your prayers come true. There was also wall with wooden token with wishes on them, they where all in different langues and it another way to have your wishes answers. When visiting such a beautiful shrine and par I was surprised in how steep in culture it was especially with such a contrast to the very shopping and loud vivid street of the Shibuya ward, Despite saying this there was still a lot of foot traffic at the Meiji shrine.

 

Nezu Shrine/ Nippon Textile town. 22/04/2019


Nezu Shrine is a shinto Shrine in Bunkyo in Tokyo. It was establish in 1705 making it one of the oldest places of worship in the city. It was built in the Ishi-no-ma-zukuri style of Shinto architecture. It has has a sprawling flower garden of hydrangeas, i array of vivid colors. It cost 200 yen to enter, but being surrounded

Nezu Shrine Hydrangeas flower garden.

by such an abundance of the flowers is visually stunning sight.







Once walking throught the numourly re gates (called torii) you will appeare at this shrine. Where you will see stone carving of foxes that are on either side of box for offering. they are there to guare the shrine.
























After I visited Nezu Shrine I decided to go to Nippon to the textile town. Once I had arrived there I was overwhelmed by how many fabric store there where. Shop after shop was filled with fabric. They had some designs that where typical to see in any shop be it in the UK or japan. However I more drawn to the rolls that had traditional Japanese print on them.





 

weavers museum.23/04/2019


Me and Agnes went to a museum, it had a lot of contemporary art, photography wasn't permitted so me and Agnes did quick sketcheof the art pieces also to note down thoughts and words about their we are seeing, it opening a line of dialogue of how I can do print for my fourth year. She suggested a lot of over laying techniques and also to look intoMe and Agnes went to a museum, it had a lot of contemporary art, photography wasn't permitted so me and Agnes did quick sketcheof the art pieces also to note down thoughts and words about their we are seeing, it opening a line of dialogue of how I can do print for my fourth year. She suggested a lot of over laying techniques and also to look into

Me and Agnes went to a museum, it had a lot of contemporary art, photography wasn't permitted so me and Agnes did quick sketcheof the art pieces also to note down thoughts and words about their we are seeing, it opening a line of dialogue of how I can do print for my fourth year. She suggested a lot of over laying techniques.





me and Agnes discuss how I wish to embroider this onto fabric. She suggest I should maybe print the body and embroider the hair. That made me think of embroerying the hair as different colour that in its usual black.







 

The sword museum 25/04/14



I went to Japanese sword. Exhibition. I wanted go more for the interface detailing the handle and sheets of the swords have. Even so it was small exhibition. I was able to collect primary research and stimulating image to draw from. The Japanese sword are staple of japan so to be able work that into my fourth year project or even private project is something I am interesting.


The some of the handles have something almost look like weaved over something as you see detail of the handle poking through, this I guess is to help with grip when handling the blade.


The colours I was intrigue by the most of black against gold as start and sleek colour scheme. However I also like red and gold. This could be a good starting colour scheme.


Some my personal thoughts and ideas: was to embroider images of samuri or the owner of the swords onto fabric and wrap that around a handed (maybe made of wood) i could sell this or I could use that to wrap around as belt for female kimono.






After the sword exhibition I went to the edo Tokyo museum.


It is a museum about history of japan, it had artifact from edo period all way up to how japan became the modern metropolis it is today. I expecially took notice of the Embroidery technical on kimono and the print, as the printing and drawing in that time frame are icon. I like how it can be simple print that slowly grows with detail. Also the colour is normal mixture between fades from strong to weak or it on just block colours.






27/04)2019

I deside I was once more going to look at shrine, I went to a shrine that famous for its lone of torii gates. It was filled with a lot less tourist then the other chained I had visited. I was also lucky enought see priest on thier traditional clothing, however picture are prohibited so I could not take a photo.





After visiting this shrine I went to the imperial palace . Non The way here i notice theatres would have these panels with all different images on them




When I was at the imperial palace I mostly was captured by it gardens and rest house as they still held he traditional Japanese artitechure. It was like stepping backward into the history of japan.




While I sadly could not find any place to take a photo of the primal palace. However the trip was still worth.it. I was able to collect primary research and see one of Japanese most famous sight seeing spots.










24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

PPD

bottom of page